Overblog
Edit page Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

About

Written by Gerrity Fox

As we prepare for a wedding later this year, it has come to our attention that apparently to have a successful marriage and home you need to have expensive, fine china plates and silverware. I, for one, do not believe in this narrative. But, that is not stopping my mother and mother-in-law from donating pieces of their china to us.

 

I remember my mother’s china as a child as being something that was displayed that we could not touch. It was only brought out a handful of times a year during very special occasions. I was usually asked to set the table each night, but I was never allowed to set the table when we were using the fine china. My partner grew up similarly. The china was reserved for special evenings and was displayed in a specific china cabinet centered in the dining room.

 

Now, this is all great and fancy for some people. For myself, I don't even expect to have a china cabinet. I certainly do not have room for one in our apartment now, and I do not believe I will want one when we move into a larger house. A large china cabinet will not fit the vibe or aesthetic I think I will be going for. So now I am stuck with all of this fine china and nowhere to put it. I cannot just throw these expensive pieces in drawers and cabinets with all of our other silverware and glassware. But, I really am not going to be one that wants to display these pieces.

 

The solution I have found is silverware boxes from packaging supplies companies. These boxes come in many different sizes for different types of china. There are boxes specific to teaspoons, tablespoons, gravy ladles, place settings, knives, forks, and spoons. These packaging supplies keep the china safe and protected in my cabinets. Each box also comes with a cotton filler to ensure the safety of the piece. I have even looked into hat boxes to house the plates and table settings. These are perfect because I can keep multiple plates in one box and just separate each piece with newspaper or tissue paper.

 

Maybe in the future I will change my mind about wanting to display the china we are inheriting. Keeping the tableware neat and clean inside these boxes will ensure I can either use the pieces when appropriate, display them later in life, or pass them down to future generations for them to do what they want with the pieces.

Share this blog
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: